Readers ask: What Star Wars Canon Books Should I Read?

Star Wars Books: A Guide to Canon Novels in Chronological Order

The new Star Wars canon has been in place since 2012, with the first novel, A New Dawn, realigning the books with the Sequel Trilogy. This list includes both adult and YA novels, but excludes audio dramas and direct movie adaptations.

After Revenge, But Before Hope

Following the fall of the Jedi, Ahsoka follows a former Jedi into the early days of the Rebellion, where Rae Sloane is at the center of many of the developments that lead from the Empire to the First Order.

The Original Trilogy

The books fill in the gaps between the movies and the prequels, giving them the opportunity to answer some big questions about the past, present, and future of the Star Wars universe. Aftermath is set in the New Republic era of Star Wars: The Force Awakens, with the Battle of Jakku marking the end of the Empire and the birth of the First Order.

The Sequel Trilogy

The conflict between the New Republic and the First Order is explored in Galaxy’s Edge: Black Spire, the latest book from Star Wars Publishing.

What canon Star Wars books should I read first?

If you ask any Star Wars fan what book to start with, they’ll almost always say Timothy Zahn’s Thrawn trilogy. Heir to the Empire, Dark Force Rising, and The Last Command launched the Expanded Universe, which was written as the third trilogy decades before The Force Awakens.

Are there any good canon Star Wars books?

4 Stars – Dark Disciple, Ahsoka, Lords of the Sith, Tarkin, Thrawn, Aftermath: Life Debt, Aftermath: Empire’s End, Phasma. 3 Stars – Rogue One, Battlefront II: Inferno Squad, Aftermath, Tales from a Galaxy Far, Far Away Vol.

We recommend reading:  How Were Charles Dickens Books Published? (Solution found)

Are there any canon Star Wars books?

Since then, the six original trilogy/prequel trilogy films, novels (where they align with what is seen on screen), the Star Wars: The Clone Wars television series and film, and Part I of the short story Blade Squadron have been considered canon.

Which Star Wars books are worth reading?

The greatest Star Wars novels

  • Christie Golden’s Dark Disciple. E.K. Johnston’s Queen’s Shadow. Zoraida Cu00f3rdova’s Star Wars Galaxy’s Edge: A Crash of Fate. Claudia Gray’s Lost Stars. Christie Golden’s Battlefront II: Inferno Squad.
  • Original Thrawn trilogy, aka Heir to the Empire trilogy.

Where should I start with Star Wars?

The best way to watch Star Wars is in chronological order.

  • While technically the sixth film in the series, A New Hope is worth seeing first because it is the beginning of it all.
  • The Phantom Menace (1999)
  • Revenge of the Sith (2005)
  • Return of the Jedi (1983)

How do I watch Star Wars in chronological order?

In chronological order, here are the Star Wars films.

  1. Episode I: The Phantom Menace (1999)
  2. Episode II: Attack of the Clones (2002)
  3. Star Wars: The Clone Wars (2008-2020)
  4. Episode III: Revenge of the Sith (2005)
  5. Solo: A Star Wars Story (2018)
  6. Star Wars Rebels (2014-2018)
  7. Rogue One (2016)
  8. Episode IV: A New Hope (1977)

Who is the best Star Wars author?

Timothy Zahn is one of the most talented writers to have ever contributed to the Star Wars universe, and is best known for creating the character Thrawn, who was reintroduced into Disney’s canon.

Is Darth plagueis canon?

Is James Luceno’s novel Darth Plagueis considered “canon” in the Star Wars universe? No, but the character of Darth Plagueis is, as Chancellor Palpatine mentioned him on screen in Star Wars: Episode III u2014 Revenge of the Sith.

We recommend reading:  What Books Did Hildegard Peplau Write?

What is the longest Star Wars book?

Timothy Zahn’s novel Vision of the Future is part of the Star Wars Legends series.

Is Dooku Jedi lost canon?

Dooku: Jedi Lost is a canon audiobook written by Cavan Scott and narrated by a full cast that follows Asajj Ventress as she delves into Count Dooku’s past to discover why he left the Jedi Order. It was released on April 30, 2019 by Random House Audio.

Are the aftermath Books canon?

Chuck Wendig’s Star Wars: Aftermath is a canon original novel set in the sequel era, published by Del Rey on September 4, 2015, as part of The Aftermath Trilogy, Journey to the Force Awakens.

Why is Star Wars Legends not canon?

On April 25, 2014, Lucasfilm rebranded the Expanded Universe material as Star Wars Legends and declared it non-canonical to the franchise, in order to prevent the planned sequel trilogy from being beholden to and restrained by the plotlines of the Expanded Universe works.

How many original Star Wars books are there?

And that’s not even counting the comics! Since 2014, over 40 Star Wars novels have been published, indicating that the Expanded Universe’s collection of Canon stories is growing at a faster rate than ever.

Is Star Wars based off of books?

No, despite the fact that the novelization of the first Star Wars film was released before the film, creator/writer/director George Lucas always imagined Star Wars as a film (or series of films).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *