FAQ: What Is Caldecott Books?

How the Caldecott Medal Came to Be

The Caldecott Medal is named after 19th-century English illustrator Randolph J.0Caldecott, and the Newbery Medal is awarded for the most distinguished American children’s book of the year. The final part of the 1937 act establishing the medals was rescinded in 1977 by the Board of Directors.

The Caldecott Medal:

It weighs 3.1 ounces and measures about 7 and a third inches in diameter (using the formula C= Pi x d). It is not worn, but rather displayed in a cherry wood box.

A few words about Randolph Caldecott and his illustrations…

Randolph Caldecott was one of three influential children’s illustrators working in England during the nineteenth century, and his illustrations for children were unique to their time in terms of both humor and ability to create a sense of movement, vitality, and action.

Resources on Randolph Caldecott

The Medal is given annually to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children, with no restrictions on the character of the picture book other than that the illustrations must be original work. The award is only given to artists who are citizens or residents of the United States.
The award is for distinguished illustrations in a picture book written and published in English. Books published simultaneously in the United States and another country may be eligible. “Resident” means the author has established and maintains a residence in the United States. The committee’s decision will be made after deliberation about books published during the specified calendar year.

What are Caldecott Honor books?

The Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC), a division of the American Library Association (ALA), awards the Randolph Caldecott Medal, or simply the Caldecott, to the illustrator of the previous year’s “most distinguished American picture book for children.”

We recommend reading:  What Are Good Audio Books? (Best solution)

What makes a book a Caldecott winner?

Excellence of pictorial interpretation of story, theme, or concept; Appropriateness of illustration style to story, theme, or concept; Delineation of plot, theme, characters, setting, mood, or information through pictures; Excellence of presentation with a child audience in mind.

Who receives the Caldecott Award?

The Randolph Caldecott Medal is given annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children, and is named after the 19th-century English illustrator Randolph Caldecott.

What are Caldecott winners children’s books?

Caldecott medals are given to the artist of the most outstanding children’s picture book, while Newberry medals are given to the author of the most outstanding children’s book, so Caldecotts are given for the best illustrations and Newberrys are given for the best story.

Has anyone won the Caldecott award more than once?

Barbara Cooney, Leo and Diane Dillon, Nonny Hogrogian, Robert McCloskey, Chris Raschka, and Chris Van Allsburg are the only artists to have won the medal twice.

What was the first book to win the Caldecott Medal?

Animals of the Bible, A Picture Book, illustrated by Dorothy P. Smith, received the first Caldecott medal in 1938.

What book won the Caldecott Medal 2021?

The Cat Man of Aleppo is a character from the Syrian city of Aleppo.

What books have won both Newbery and Caldecott?

Kevin Henkes, William Steig, Holling C. Holling, Robert Lawson, Ludwig Bemelmans, James Daugherty, Alice Dalgliesh, and Arnold Lobel are among the author-artists who have won both medals (but not for the same book).

We recommend reading:  Quick Answer: What Are The Core D&d Books?

Is Goodnight Moon a Caldecott winner?

The Snowy Day by Ezra Jack Keats won a Caldecott Medal in 1963 and was one of the first picture books to feature an African-American character. Goodnight Moon by Margaret Wise Brown is not an official award winner, but it has sold over 14 million copies, making it one of the best-selling picture books of all time.

Is Barbara Cooney still alive?

The Theodore Geisel Seuss award for best children’s picture book is named after him. Eric Carle, whose book The Very Hungry Caterpillar is one of the best-selling children’s books of all time, was never nominated for the prestigious Caldecott award.

Who won Caldecott 2020?

Caldecott Medal Winners /: Caldecott Medal Winners /: Caldecott Medal Winners /: Caldecott Medal Winners /: Caldecott Medal Winners /: Caldecott Medal Winners /: Caldecott Medal Winners /: Caldecott Medal Winners /: Caldecott Medal Winner

  • (2021) Carole Lindstrom’s We Are Water Protectors.
  • (2020) Kwame Alexander’s The Undefeated.
  • (2019) Sophie Blackall’s Hello Lighthouse.
  • (2018) Matthew Cordell’s Wolf in the Snow.
  • (2017) Javaka Steptoe’s Radiant Child: The Story of Young Artist Jean-Michel Basquiat.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *