What Books If You Like Tana French?

Tana French’s Book Recommendations

Tana French’s latest book, The Searcher, is a New York Times bestseller, and she was so sure she wouldn’t win the Irish Book Award for Crime Fiction that she wore the same dress she wore when she won it four years ago.

…kept me up way too late:

I started it on a plane, read it through a night flight across the Atlantic, and then came home and finished it; I don’t think I would have noticed if the plane had crashed, says Donna Tartt, author of The Secret History.

…I recommend over and over again:

Michael Chabon’s The Yiddish Policemen’s Union is a noir novel, but it’s a huge, lyrical, wildly original alternative-history novel. I admire his breadth of imagination, the joy with which he juggles language, and his ability to make a character leap off the page.

…I keep trying to finish (I will, I swear):

The Little Stranger by Sarah Waters is a beautifully written book with a slowly building atmosphere of unease and eerieness. I was spooked enough that my husband gently suggested that I put the book away about a third of the way through.

…currently sits on my nightstand:

I’m rereading Marlon James’ A Brief History of Seven Killings, a ferocious, atmospheric, beautifully written book with vast, fearless scope, and I’m blown away by his mastery of bringing a dozen vivid and completely distinct voices to life.

…changed my mind about something:

Since reading Josephine Tey’s The Daughter of Time as a teenager, I’ve become much more cautious about double-checking sources.

…I’d pass onto my kid:

Many Moons by James Thurber is one of my favorite books; it’s quirky, mysterious, funny, and beautiful, and I still have my old childhood copy from 1943, which I believe was also my father’s childhood copy.

…made me laugh out loud:

The TED Talk You Look Like a Thing and I Love You is part of the artificial intelligence series, and the title is a pickup line.

…I wish I’d written:

Under Milk Wood by Dylan Thomas is one of the most beautiful plays ever written; if I could write something as beautiful as that, I’d be a happy writer for the rest of my life. Under Milk Wood is a play about the life of a small Welsh town over the course of a single day, and the writing is stunning.

We recommend reading:  How To Take Photos Of Books? (Question)

…I last bought:

I just finished reading Viviane Schwarz’s Is There a Dog in This Book?, which I think every child should own. As a cat person, I especially like how the cats think in full sentences while the dog thinks in stick figures.

…has the best opening line:

“When I was a young lad twenty, thirty, or forty years ago, I lived in a small town,” the narrator says, and you’re suddenly inside the narrator’s head, and you’re not getting anything else done today.

…made me want to be a writer:

My father read me Kenneth Grahame’s The Wind in the Willows when I was younger, and it inspired me to want to be a writer; it was then that I realized the power of words and the impact they can have on people.

…I consider literary comfort food:

I’ve been rereading a lot of Agatha Christie, and my favorite is Sleeping Murder because of the haunting atmosphere. Right now, I want to live in a world where I know the crisis will end, the good and bad will be neatly sorted out and put where they belong, and everyone will move on.

…everyone should read:

The Playmaker by Thomas Keneally is a passionate call to understand that the arts aren’t a frivolous luxury or a pretentious elitist indulgence. It’s the story of a play put on in 1789 by the first convicts transported to Australia.

…I could only have discovered at…Greene’s on Clare Street:

I was in Greene’s, Dublin’s oldest bookshop, a 250-year-old structure packed to the rafters with every kind of book you can imagine, including information on the laws governing jetsam, flotsam, and ligan, as well as a story about a seventeenth-century maid.

…fills me with hope:

It reminded me of how, even in the strangest, saddest, and most limiting circumstances, people find ways to be happy and make a difference to one another.

We recommend reading:  When Did Jrr Tolkien Wrote His Books? (TOP 5 Tips)

…I asked for one Christmas as a kid:

I kept checking out the copy from the school library and refusing to return it; in the end, I told the school I’d lost it because I didn’t know where it had gone.

What is Tana French’s most popular book?

Get away from the news for a while.

  • Faithful Place (2010)
  • The Searcher (2020)
  • The Witch Elm (2018)
  • Broken Harbor (2012)
  • The Likeness (2008)
  • In The Woods (2007)
  • Broken

Do you need to read Tana French books in order?

It is sometimes recommended to read “In The Woods” and “The Likeness” later in the series; reading them together is better, but the first one is the most divisive, so you can skip them and go to “Faithful Place” or “Broken Harbour.”

What genre is Tana French?

The Edgar, Anthony, Macavity, and Barry awards, as well as the Los Angeles Times Award for Best Mystery/Thriller and the Irish Book Award for Crime Fiction, have all been given to her books.

Who is the best mystery writer?

The Top 10 Mystery Writers of All Time

  • Tana French.
  • Natsuo kirino.
  • Dennis lehane.
  • Carlos Ruiz Zafu00f3n.
  • Walter mosley.
  • Arthur conan doyle.
  • Agatha christie.

Are any Tana French books movies?

The first trailer for Dublin Murders, the highly anticipated Starz adaptation of two of Tana French’s wildly popular Dublin Murder Squad novels (In the Woods and The Likeness), was released earlier this week, and it is creepy as hell.

Where do I start with Tana French?

Tana French: Where to Begin

  • Tana French.
  • Faithful Place. Tana French.
  • The Secret Place. Tana French.
  • The Trespasser. Tana French.
  • Broken Harbor. Tana French.
  • In the Woods. Tana French.
  • The Witch Elm. Tana French.

Who writes like Jane Harper?

Try these authors if you like Jane Harper:

  • Jean-Luc Bannalec is a pseudonym.
  • Ann Cleeves is the author of over thirty critically acclaimed novels, and in 2017 she was awarded the CWA Diamond Dagger, the highest accolade in crime writing.
We recommend reading:  How Many Bone Books By Jeff Smith Are There? (Question)

What happened in the Woods Tana French?

The premise is both chilling and engrossing: three children vanish into the woods outside a Dublin suburb in 1984; only one small boy is found hours later, with blood on his shoes and slashes on his back and no memory of the previous hours; the other two children are never found.

Do Cassie and Rob get together?

Cassie and Rob are a compelling couple, and their story has the most heart, so seeing them again after so many episodes apart was a pleasant surprise. Sarah Greene and Killian Scott are a captivating couple.

Is Ardnakelty real?

Cal Hooper is a retired Chicago cop who has recently relocated to Ardnakelty, a small (fictional) village on Ireland’s west coast.

Does Rob Ryan appear in other Tana French books?

Frank Mackey appears in French’s later novels Faithful Place (2010) and The Secret Place (2014). Cassie Maddox was a character in French’s 2007 novel In the Woods. Her partner in In the Woods, Adam “Rob” Ryan, is mentioned briefly in The Likeness.

Is Tana French male or female?

Tana French, an American-Irish writer and theatrical actress, was born in Burlington, Vermont, in 1973 and has lived in Dublin, Ireland since 2007. Her debut novel, In the Woods (2007), a psychological mystery, won the Edgar, Anthony, Macavity, and Barry awards for best first novel.

What nationality is Tana French?

French is an American who was born in Vermont and has lived in a variety of places, including Italy and Malawi u2014 though her command of Irish accents and personalities has given French’s Dublin a large, fictitious population u2014 and is now based in Ireland.

What is Tana French writing now?

Her new novel, “The Searcher,” is a departure from her previous work, as she has been experimenting with stand-alone novels after writing six mysteries in her “Dublin Murder Squad” series, which features a group of detectives.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *