Quick Answer: What Are The Ramona Books About?

Ramona (novel series)

The Ramona books are a series of eight humorous children’s novels written by Beverly Cleary, beginning with Beezus and Ramona in 1955 and ending with Ramona’s World in 1999. As of 2012, the series was marketed as “The Complete Ramona Collection.”


The Ramona books evolved from Cleary’s earlier Henry Huggins series, in which Beezus was a friend of Henry’s and Ramona, Henry’s younger sister, was a nuisance. The last Ramona book, Ramona’s World, was published in 1999, 15 years after the previous one.


Ramona scribbles all over a library book, locks Ribsy in the bathroom, and disrupts art class in Beedus and Ramona (1955), the only book in the series written from the perspective of older sister Beezus. This installment was a Newbery Honor book. Ramona Quimby is learning to take responsibility for herself in this book. She is in third grade at a new school and making some new friends.

Ramona’s characterization

Librarians and children’s writers have praised the use of the word “irrepressible” to describe Ramona, who they say represents a girl who has not been subdued by adults or the world.

Critical reception

The Ramona books have become a standard for realistic children’s fiction, and they are still highly regarded and read in a variety of languages around the world.


The Ramona books were adapted for Canadian television as Ramona and for the American film Ramona and Beezus. Although the film jumps from book to book, the plot focuses primarily on Ramona Forever. The 10-part series starred Sarah Polley and Loren Chodos.

We recommend reading:  How To Find The Value Of Books? (Solution)


The Quimbys’ cat: Picky-picky Grandpa Day, who avoids Ramona because he has grown grouchy in his old age.


Beverly Cleary, The Ramona Quimby Diary, HarperCollins, 1984; Kathleen Odean, Great Books for Girls, Random House, 1997, pg. 153; Julia Eccleshare, 1001 Children’s Books You Must Read Before You Grow Up, Universe Publishing, 2009, pg. 277; Beverly Cleary, The Ramona Quimby Diary, HarperCollins, 1984; Beverly Cleary, The Ramona Quimby Diary, HarperCol

External links

The Beverly Cleary Memorial Garden has a statue of Ramona in the grounds of her former home.

What age group are the Ramona books for?

Most kids between the ages of 5 and 9 will likely enjoy this.

What is the book Beezus and Ramona about?

Beatrice “Beezus” Quimby, a close friend of Henry Huggins, is constantly irritated by her younger sister Ramona’s imaginative antics, which include wearing her beloved homemade paper rabbit ears while pretending to be the Easter Bunny, and wearing her beloved homemade paper rabbit ears while pretending to be the Easter Bunny.

Which Ramona book should I read first?

The first book in the series, Beezus and Ramona, was published in 1955, and the last book, Ramona’s World, was published in 1999. Two of the books in the series, Ramona and Her Father and Ramona Quimby, Age 8, were named Newbery Honor books.

How much older is Beezus than Ramona?

Ramona’s age in Beezus and Ramona is four years old.

Do the Ramona books go in order?

Order of Ramona Quimby’s Books:

  • Beezus and Ramona u2013 Having a four-year-old sister like Ramona isn’t always easy for Beezus Quimby.
  • Ramona the Pest u2013 Ramona Quimby is excited to start kindergarten.
  • Ramona the Brave u2013 Starting first grade should be easy for a girl as enthusiastic about life as Ramona.
We recommend reading:  Sci Fi Fantasy Books What To Read Next?

How many Beezus and Ramona books are there?

Ramona Quimby, Age 8, Ramona Forever, Ramona the Brave, Ramona the Pest, Ramona’s World: The Complete 8-Book Ramona Collection: Beezus and Ramona, Ramona and Her Father, Ramona and Her Mother, Ramona Quimby, Age 8, Ramona Quimby, Age 8, Ramona Quimby, Age 8, Ramona Quimby, Age 8, Ramona Quimby, Age 8, Ram

How does Ramona and Beezus end?

Ramona saves the day at Bea and Hobart’s wedding when she discovers the wedding ring Howie dropped, and Beezus and Henry share a kiss and dance together during the reception.

What is the theme of Beezus and Ramona?

One of the major themes in the book was family, and how no matter how much a sibling irritates you, you still love them at the end of the day. Another theme in the book was problem-solving, and how every time Ramona did something bad, Beezus figured out a way to fix it.

What is level O in reading?

At a level O, your child can read independently, or on his or her own, chapter books as well as shorter fiction and informational (nonfiction) texts. Level O readers can solve new vocabulary words in their reading, which may be defined in the text or left unexplained.

Is Ramona a Spanish name?

Ramona is a feminine given name that is the feminine form of Ramon (Spanish) and Raymond (Old German) and means “wise protector” in Spanish, Romania, Moldova, Italy, and Portugal, as well as in some Latin American and North American countries.

What grade is Ramona Quimby?

Ramona Quimby, Age 8 (1981) is a Ramona Quimby novel written by Beverly Cleary. Ramona Quimby is in third grade, has moved to a new school, and is making new friends.

We recommend reading:  How Do I Buy Books On Ibooks? (TOP 5 Tips)

Is Beezus older than Ramona?

Beatrice Ann “Beezus” Quimby is a character in Beverly Cleary’s Henry Huggins and Ramona series of books. She is Henry and Mary Jane’s friend, as well as Ramona and Roberta’s older sister. Beezus got her nickname from Ramona, who had difficulty pronouncing Beatrice as a toddler.

What was Beverly Cleary’s last book?

Her first book about Henry Huggins, Beezus, and Ramona was published in 1950, and her last Ramona book was published in 1999.

Is Ramona a good name?

Ramona is a sweet spot name u2013 neither too trendy nor too eccentric u2013 and kids will associate it with the clever Ramona Quimby character in the Beverly Cleary series of books, which has also been adapted for television.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *