Question: What Are The Discworld Books?

How many books are in the Discworld series?

There are 41 Discworld novels in total, published over 32 years, and while you can read them in any order, we’ve created two downloadable lists to help you fully explore the stories and characters of Discworld.

What type of fantasy is Discworld?

Discworld is a comic fantasy book series set on the Discworld, a flat planet balanced on the backs of four elephants, who in turn stand on the backs of a giant turtle, written by English author Terry Pratchett.

Do you have to read the Discworld books in order?

The Discworld Series is divided into several “sub series,” and the books aren’t labeled according to which series they belong to. They can be read and enjoyed without reading them in order (phew! ), but reading them in order gives you the most enjoyment.

Which Discworld series is best?

The 10 Best Discworld Novels by Terry Pratchett

  • Given that Discworld is a vaguely medieval/Renaissance-era fantasy world, it would be a crime if there wasn’t a parody of actual literature from those periods.
  • Thief of Time.
  • Men at Arms.
  • Interesting Times.
  • Guards!
  • Wyrd Sisters.
  • Small Gods.
  • Mort.

Is Discworld on a turtle?

The Discworld was carried through space on the back of Great A’Tuin, the World Turtle; however, the Disc does not rest directly on A’Tuin’s back; instead, it rests on the shoulders of four enormous elephants, Berilia, Tubul, Great T’Phon, and Jerakeen, who stand atop the turtle’s shell.

What is the best Discworld novel to start with?

The best Discworld books for newcomers are listed below.

  • Sourcery.
  • Hogfather.
  • Guards! Guards!
  • Mort.
  • Night Watch.
  • The Wee Free Men.
We recommend reading:  Books On How To Write A Children's Book? (Best solution)

Is the Discworld series for adults?

While there is some adolescent-friendly humor (silly puns, body function jokes), the majority of the humor is mature, based on deep knowledge of human nature and society. I strongly encourage you to read it.

What Discworld called?

All of Terry Pratchett’s Discworld fantasy novels are set in the fictional Discworld.

What age is Discworld for?

The majority, if not all, of the quotes, misquotes, and outright take-offs of various cultures that make the discworld series so enjoyable to read would be lost on a twelve-year-old reader; however, the books are entirely suitable – no sex and very little violence – but best left until the child is a bit older.

Is death in every Discworld book?

With the exception of The Wee Free Men and Snuff, Death has appeared in every Discworld novel, and had a possible cameo at the end of Johnny and the Dead (the character was not identified, but spoke in unquoted small caps as Death does throughout the series).

What is the first Discworld novel?

We believe in the free flow of information, and Terry Pratchett once told me that his first novel in the series, The Colour of Magic (1983), was not the best place to start your relationship with the Discworld.

Is Terry Pratchett dead?

(1948u20132015) Deceased

What should I read after Discworld?

Authors who are comparable to Terry Pratchett

  • The author of 13 1/2 Lives of Captain Bluebear transports readers to a magical world in The City of Dreaming Books.
  • The Labyrinth of Dreaming Books. Walter Moers, John Brown, Optimus Yarnspinner.
  • World War Moo: An Apocalypse Cow Novel. Michael Logan.
We recommend reading:  How Books Are In The New Testament? (Question)

Is good omens part of Discworld?

Terry Pratchett and Neil Gaiman’s Good Omens Collection | Books – Discworld Emporium

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *