FAQ: What Are The Books In The Giver Series?

The Giver Quartet

The Giver Quartet is a series of four books by Lois Lowry set in a dystopian world, the first of which won the Newbery Medal in 1994 and has sold over 10 million copies. Each book features a different protagonist but is set in the same futuristic era.

The Giver

The Giver is a 1993 American children’s novel written for young adults and older that won the Newbery Medal in 1994. It is part of a loose quartet that includes Gathering Blue (2000), Messenger (2004), and Son (2012), all set in the same future era.

Gathering Blue

Gathering Blue is a children’s dystopian novella published in 2000 that is set in the same future time period as The Giver. Kira, who has a deformed leg, is orphaned and must learn to survive in a society that typically abandons the weak and disabled to die in the fields.


It is set in an isolated community known simply as Village and centers on a young boy named Matty who serves as a message bearer through the Forest, as well as the fate of Jonas and Gabe from The Giver.

Film adaptation

The Weinstein Company and Walden Media produced a film adaptation of the first book, which was released on August 15, 2014 and starred Jeff Bridges as The Giver, Brenton Thwaites as Jonas, and Meryl Streep as the Chief Elder.


The main characters are played by Alexander Skarsgard, Maggie Gyllenhaal, Jeff Bridges, and Brenton Thwaites.

Are the books in the giver series connected?

The Giver series is a four-book dystopian science fiction series for young adults written by Lois Lowry. Unlike other book series, the books are only loosely connected, and the main character in each book is not the same.

We recommend reading:  Readers ask: What Old Testament Books Available During Jesus?

What order are The Giver books in?

The Giver (1993), Gathering Blue (2000), Messenger (2004), and Son (2012) make up the quartet; the first book won the Newbery Medal in 1994 and has sold over 10 million copies.

Is Jonas in the other giver books?

In 2004, Jonas reappeared as a full-fledged character u2014 albeit under a different name u2014 in Messenger, a sequel to Gathering Blue, and his (and Gabe’s) sagas are finally coming to a close with the release of Son, the first direct sequel to The Giver.

What is book 2 of The Giver?

Find all the books, read about the author, and more in Lois Lowry’s Gathering Blue (Giver Quartet, Book 2) Kindle Edition. Lois Lowry once again creates a mysterious but plausible future world, this time one ruled by savagery and deception, which shuns and discards the weak.

Is The Giver Jonas biological father?

The Giver may be Jonas’ biological father, but the book never explicitly states this.

Who does Jonas marry in The Giver?

Jonas had stepped down as Leader for the sake of his family, but he was still revered by many in the Village, and he and Kira had two children named Annabelle and Matthew.

Can you read the giver series out of order?


Is the giver on Netflix?

The Giver is currently streaming on Netflix.

We recommend reading:  Who Buys Used Books In Raleigh Nc? (Solution found)

Do you have to read the giver to read Gathering Blue?

Is gathering blue related to the giver?

Gathering Blue is a young adult dystopian novel written by Lois Lowry and published on September 25, 2000. It is a companion book to The Giver (1993), and it is followed by Messenger (2004) and Son (2012) in The Giver Quartet. It is set in the same future time period and universe as The Giver (1993), and it deals with some of the same themes.

What happened to Jonas and Gabriel at the end of the giver?

The Giver concludes with Jonas’ rejection of his community’s ideal of Sameness, and his decision to rescue Gabriel and flee the community. As they travel through an unfamiliar wintery landscape, they grow steadily weaker.

Is gathering blue the sequel to the giver?

It’s not a sequel in the sense that no characters appear in both, they’re set in separate contemporaneous communities, and the action doesn’t pick up where the previous book left off, but it’s set in the same world; the stories converge in the series’ final two books.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *