Question: What Reading Level Os Harry Potter Books?

Harry Potter Reading Level Guide by Age & Grade

I’ve put together a comprehensive Harry Potter reading level guide to help you decide when they’re ready for each book. The Harry Potter franchise is perhaps the most significant thing to happen in children’s literature in the last 50 years, and I’ve put together a comprehensive Harry Potter reading level guide to help you decide when they’re ready for each book.

A Bit About Harry Potter

The Harry Potter series follows the adventures of a young wizard named Harry, and consists of seven books centered on Harry and his friends Ron and Hermione. The books explore themes such as good and evil, love and friendship, loyalty and corruption, to name a few.

Harry Potter Reading Level Guide by Age and Grade

I’ve considered two factors: reading ability and content suitability; in general, the themes in these stories become more mature as the series progresses. This guide is only meant to serve as a starting point for each book in the series.

Age 8 + / 2nd and 3rd grade

By the third grade, most children are ready for the first three books in the Harry Potter series; if your child struggles with reading, reading these books aloud can be a great way to share these stories, and you’ll probably enjoy them just as much as your kids do!

• Book 1: The Sorcerer’s Stone

The Sorcerer’s Stone, like the other Harry Potter books, tackles some difficult themes; there are some potentially frightening scenes, but they’re handled delicately; it also touches on the subject of parental death, so it’s a good idea to gently broach the subject with your child.

• Book 2: The Prisoner of Azkaban

Because she isn’t a main character, most children aren’t alarmed by the violence, which isn’t any scarier than in The Sorcerer’s Stone.

• Book 3: The Chamber of Secrets

Rowling presents some of the more mature themes, such as the introduction of a serial killer, in an easy-to-understand manner, and most younger readers are likely to gloss over their gravity without much thought.

We recommend reading:  FAQ: What Was The Holy Books Of Muslim?

Age 10+/ 5th grade

The reading level required for books 4 and 5 rises significantly. The plot becomes more interwoven and complex, and the books are longer and require more focus than many younger readers can sustain; they’re probably too difficult for children under the age of ten.

• Book 4: The Goblet of Fire

Without giving too much away, the children are betrayed by an adult they thought they could trust in the fourth book in the series, which is even scarier and faster-paced than the previous one. There’s a plot twist at the end that more sensitive kids may find disturbing.

• Book 5: The Order of the Phoenix

The Order of the Phoenix is the fifth book in the Harry Potter series, and it follows the same themes as the previous four books. There is another death at the end of this book, but it is not related to Harry or Ron, but rather to a character close to his heart.

Age 11/ 6th Grade

Book 6 continues at a similar level of reading and comprehension as the previous two books, but I recommend it for 11-year-olds rather than 10-year-olds due to the challenging themes that require a level of maturity that many 10-year-olds lack.

• Book 6: The Half-Blood Prince

The main character, Harry, is effectively alone in the battle of good vs. evil, and it explores the concept of the soul and how negative actions can permanently damage a person’s spirit.

Age 13/8th grade

Most children will have no trouble reading book 7, but given the themes it explores, it may be classified as PG13. Most children who understood books 4, 5, and 6 will have no trouble reading this one.

• Book 7: Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows is the final book in the Harry Potter series, and it contains some gruesome scenes of violence that surpass anything seen in the previous books, as well as valuable lessons about life, death, strength, and loyalty.

We recommend reading:  Who Does Caroline End Up With In The Vampire Diaries Books? (Question)


I love how this series evolves with children as they improve their reading skills and mature over time, and how JK Rowling manages to captivate audiences of all ages. I hope you enjoy sharing this magical wizarding world with your children.

Can a 7 year old read Harry Potter?

Read: Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone. Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets. 7u20139: A great age to start (for younger kids, consider reading aloud together).

What age is Harry Potter books suitable for?

The first three Harry Potter books are excellent for reading aloud to children aged six or seven, and most children, both boys and girls, will enjoy them by the age of eight.

What is Harry Potter Lexile level?

When a book, article, or piece of text is analyzed by MetaMetricssup>u00ae/sup>, it receives a Lexile text measure, such as 880L for the first Harry Potter book. The Lexile Framework measures students and texts on the same developmental scale to seamlessly match readers to targeted texts.

Who all died in Harry Potter?

There are spoilers for all eight “Harry Potter” films ahead.

  • Rufus Scrimgeour.
  • Regulus Black.
  • Gellert Grindelwald.
  • Nicolas Flamel.
  • Quirinus Quirrell.
  • Scabior.
  • Bellatrix Lestrange. Bellatrix Lestrange died during the Battle of Hogwarts.

Can a 6 year old read Harry Potter?

So, when should kids be introduced to Harry Potter? Not before they’re nine or ten years old, according to Agarwal. “I know some ambitious parents are eager to make seven-year-olds read Harry Potter, but I believe it’s important for a kid to grasp all the nuances to fully appreciate a book,” he said.

How old is Harry Potter now 2020?

Though the u201cHarry Potteru201d films from Warner Bros. avoided specifying an exact year, J.K. Rowling’s books established a real-world timeline in which Harry begins Hogwarts after his 11th birthday on July 31, 1991, implying that he was born in 1980 and will turn 40 in 2020.

We recommend reading:  How To Make Pop Up Books Step By Step?

Can my 5 year old watch Harry Potter?

Is Harry Potter and the Philosophers Stone suitable for children aged 4 to 5? The books were originally written for primary school students, but due to their popularity, J K Rowling began to make them darker and more adult-oriented as the series progressed. Harry Potter and the Philosophers Stone is suitable for young children.

Can I read Harry Potter to a 5 year old?

There is no u201cright ageu201d for Harry Potter, as there is for most milestones; it all depends on the childu2014and the parents. However, there are a few age-related guidelines to consider: Harry Potter is classified as a middle-grade read, which typically encompasses 9u2013tou201312u2013yearu2013olds.

What are the 9 Harry Potter books?

Harry Potter is a fictional character created by J.

  • The Philosopher’s Stone (1997)
  • The Chamber of Secrets (1998)
  • The Prisoner of Azkaban (1999)
  • The Goblet of Fire (2000)
  • The Order of the Phoenix (2003)
  • The Half-Blood Prince (2005)
  • The Deathly Hallows (2007)

Can adults read the Harry Potter books?

Although Harry Potter is a children’s book series, it is extremely popular among adults; the love for these books is immense, and once you’ve been introduced to the world of Harry Potter, it’s difficult to leave; therefore, why not give these magical books a read yourself?

Is the Harry Potter books worth reading?

The books are well worth it; the movies allow you to admire the Wizarding World, but the books allow you to immerse yourself in it. J.K Rowling is a fantastic writer, and reading the Harry Potter books is an experience unlike any other.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *