Often asked: What Came First Star Wars Movie Or Books?

Star Wars: From the Adventures of Luke Skywalker

Ballantine Books (USA) and Sphere Books (UK) published Alan Dean Foster’s Star Wars: From the Adventures of Luke Skywalker in 1976.


Author Alan Dean Foster ghostwrote George Lucas’s novelization of Star Wars, which was based on Lucas’s screenplay for the first Star Wars film. Lucas has acknowledged that Foster wrote the book, noting it in his introduction to later editions.

Publishing history

The Star Wars novelization was first published by Ballantine Books in December 1976, six months before the film’s release, and featured cover art by Ralph McQuarrie. The book sold out its initial print run of 125,000 copies in three months.

Differences from the film

The novelization for Star Wars: The Force Awakens contains the first mention of the Emperor’s name, Palpatine, and a prologue explains the political backstory titled “From the First Saga: Journal of the Whills” in place of the opening crawl describing the events immediately preceding the film.


Splinter of the Mind’s Eye was commissioned by George Lucas for the purpose of being filmed as a low-budget sequel, and it was published in 1978, a year after the film’s release. The Empire Strikes Back was the next official novelization of a Star Wars film, released in 1980.


“Over 40 Years of Star Wars: A New Hope Novelization Covers”, retrieved June 16, 2017. John Scoleri’s “An Annotated Guide to Ralph McQuarrie’s Star Wars Portfolio”, dated January 14, 2014.

External links

Star Wars Episode IV: A New Hope (novel) is listed on Wookieepedia, a Star Wars wiki. “The Star Wars: From the Adventures of Luke Starkiller” (PDF) is listed on the Internet Speculative Fiction Database.

We recommend reading:  Readers ask: What Genre Are Superhero Books?

Did George Lucas write Star Wars books?

Despite the fact that Lucas was listed as the author, it was later revealed that the book was ghostwritten by Alan Dean Foster, who would go on to write Splinter of the Mind’s Eye, the first original Star Wars novel and, in many ways, the first Star Wars sequel.

What came first in Star Wars?

Star Wars Episode I: The Phantom Menace, Star Wars Episode II: Attack of the Clones, and Star Wars Episode III: Revenge of the Sith would be the order in which the Star Wars films would be watched in chronological order.

Which came first Star Wars A New Hope the book or the movie?

Prior to the film’s 1977 release, Ballantine Books published the novelization on November 12, 1976, and Foster wrote a sequel, Splinter of the Mind’s Eye, which was published in 1978. Star Wars Episode IV: A New Hope was later collected in The Star Wars Saga (1983) and The Star Wars Trilogy (1987).

Do the Star Wars movies follow the books?

Many derivative Star Wars works have been produced in conjunction with, between, and after the original trilogy of films and later installments, depicting the adventures of various characters “a long time ago in a galaxy far, far away.”

Why was Star Wars made out of order?

Starting with Episode IV meant introducing audiences to the Star Wars universe with little context; even the first film mentions events such as the Clone Wars that would not be addressed until the prequels were released, so the prequel films became necessary after Star Wars’ massive popularity.

We recommend reading:  How Many Books Are In The Dark Hunter Series? (Question)

Who is Anakin’s father?

Anakin Skywalker is the secret husband of Padmu00e9 Amidala, the father of Luke Skywalker and Leia Organa, the father-in-law of Han Solo, and the maternal grandfather of Ben Solo. He is the son of Shmi Skywalker, who was born without a father through the Force.

What is Machete order?

So, how do you solve these three experience-ruining issues for the viewer? Simple: watch A New Hope, The Empire Strikes Back, Attack of the Clones, Revenge of the Sith, Return of the Jedi, and then The Force Awakens in this order.

Where should I start with Star Wars?

The order of the films in chronological order

  • Episode I: The Phantom Menace (1999)
  • Episode II: Attack of the Clones (2002)
  • Episode III: Revenge of the Sith (2005)
  • Solo (2018)
  • Rogue One (2016)
  • Episode IV: A New Hope (1977)
  • Episode V: The Empire Strikes Back (1980)
  • Episode VI: The Return of the Jedi (1983)

Is Star Wars based on ww2?

The influence of World War II on Star Wars was more than indirect: it was the direct inspiration for many of the things we see in the galaxy far, far away, including Westerns, the Vietnam War, swashbuckling heroes, and classical myths.

Why did George Lucas start with 4?

“Lucas had a massive, expensive epic on his hands, and divided the story into three separate films,” author Michael Kaminski writes in The Secret History of Star Wars, explaining why Lucas chose to start with the fourth episode “due to technical and storytelling reasons.”

Did Star Wars exist before the movies?

Star Wars: From the Adventures of Luke Skywalker is a novelization of George Lucas’ 1977 film Star Wars, which was first published on November 12, 1976, by Ballantine Books, several months before the film’s release. It was ghostwritten by Alan Dean Foster but credited to George Lucas.

We recommend reading:  What Order Should I Read Iris Johansen Books? (Perfect answer)

Why is Star Wars so popular?

The fact that Star Wars was the first science fiction space adventure to be released to a mass audience when it was released in 1977 was one of the main reasons for its success; the movie’s build-up was intense, and every release since has been a major event.

Why did Disney ruin Star Wars?

Disney is ruining Star Wars by removing established lore, overusing nostalgia, and allowing politics to get in the way of the story. When Disney bought Star Wars, the first thing they did was make all material that wasn’t the films or the animated TV show The Clone Wars non-canon.

What Star Wars books are canon now?

In January 2021, Lucasfilm announced a new set of six dividing eras for all canonical content: The High Republic, The Fall of the Jedi, The Reign of the Empire, The Age of Rebellion, The New Republic, and The Rise of the First Order, as outlined in our canon timeline explainer.

Is starkiller canon in Star Wars?

However, in today’s article, we at Fiction Horizon will not discuss the games’ gaming value, but rather the game’s main character, Starkiller, and his canon status within the larger Star Wars fictional universe. Galen Marek, a.k.a. Starkiller, is currently not canon.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *