Often asked: In What Order Do The Outlander Books Go?

Chronology of the Outlander Series

The Big, Enormous Books are about Claire and Jamie Fraser’s lives, while the Short, Less Indescribable Novels are more or less historical mysteries, and The Bulges are short stories that fit in between the story lines of the novels.

Chronology of the Outlander Series:

Lord John’s lordship attends an electricu2010eel party in London and ends up at the Battle of Quebec. Set in London in 1757, this is a historical mystery steeped in blood and less savory substances. The second full-length novel deals with a twenty-year-old family scandal.
The Scottish Prisoner is set in the Lake District, London, and Ireland in 1760. “A Plague of Zombies” (novella): Set in 1761 in Jamaica, Lord John Grey discovers a previously unknown affinity for snakes, cockroaches, and zombies. The author’s books have an internal “shape” that she sees while writing them.

In the Works:

Jamie and Claire’s next book, Book Ten of the OUTLANDER series, will be the final installment in a series of major novels focusing on Jamie and Claire’s story; there are other projects in the works after Book X, including a prequel featuring Jamie’s parents.


SEVEN STONES TO STAND OR FALL deals with interesting side-stories and lacunae of the Outlander universe, and LORD JOHN AND THE HAND OF DEVILS is a collection of three novellas. All photographs by Diana Gabaldon.

How many books will be in the Outlander series?

There are currently eight books in the Outlander series, as well as a “sub-series” focusing on Lord John Grey, a graphic novel called The Exile, and more short stories and novellas collected in Seven Stones to Stand or Fall. The Lord Grey series may also be adapted for television.

We recommend reading:  What Are Themes In Books? (Question)

Has Diana Gabaldon finished book 9?

While the most recent season of the show was based on Diana Gabaldon’s books The Fiery Cross, the fifth in the Outlander series, and A Breath of Snow and Ashes, the sixth, the author recently finished her ninth book about Jamie and Claire, titled Go Tell the Bees That I Am Gone.

What Outlander book comes after a breath of snow and ashes?


Do Claire and Jamie have another baby?

After Claire showed him photos of their child in season three when the lovers were reunited, Jamie and Claire had another daughter, Brianna Fraser (Sophie Skelton), who returned through the stones to be reunited with her parents. The Highlander mentioned Brianna had red hair like her sister Faith after Claire showed him photos of their child.

Does Jamie travel to the future in Outlander?

Jamie Fraser will never travel to the future, according to Gabaldon, who confirmed this in response to a fan tweet. u201cNope, never happening,u201d she tweeted, much to the dismay of hopeful fans. So, unless Gabaldon changes her mind for the final book in the Outlander series, Jamie Fraser will be stuck in the past forever.

Will there be a 9th book in the Outlander series?

GO TELL THE BEES THAT I AM GONE (nicknamed “BEES”) is the ninth book in my OUTLANDER series of major novels starring Jamie and Claire, and it will be released on November 23, 2021 in first-edition hardcover and electronic versions.

We recommend reading:  How Many Books Are There In Divergent? (Question)

Will there be a 10th Outlander book?

Outlander Book 10 is still set to be the last of Diana Gabaldon’s big books; she’s still working on Book 9, titled Go Tell the Bees That I Am Gone, and has said that she’s close to finishing but not quite there yet.

What does Go Tell the Bees That I Am Gone meaning?

1. The title is Go Tell the Bees That I’m Gone, which Gabaldon explains as follows: u201cYou always tell the bees when someone is born, dies, comes, or goes u2014 because if you don’t, they’ll fly away if you don’t keep them informed.u201d

Does Jamie go through the stones?

Jamie’s ghost is 25, according to Gabaldon, which is strange given that he’s well into middle age in Season 5. Jamie reiterates that he can’t travel through the stones in Season 5, but it appears that the stones have their own minds.

Why does Claire marry John GREY?

Claire married the Lord to gain protection after believing Jamie was dead, according to the books. In 2017, John Grey actor David Berry spoke to Entertainment Weekly about the love triangle between Claire and Jamie.

How old is Claire in A Breath of Snow and Ashes?

Kathryn Jamie was born in 1721, and Claire in 1918, so they are nominally 51 and 54 in ABoSaA (which begins in 1772).

Is Outlander based on a true story?

Outlander, a historical drama series based on a series of novels by Diana Gabaldon, has become a TV phenomenon, and much of the story is based on historical fact, despite its fictional nature.

We recommend reading:  Question: In Harry Potter Books What Is A Muggle?

What is book 2 in the Outlander series?

Diana Gabaldon’s Dragonfly in Amber (Outlander, Book 2) is available as a Kindle eBook.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *