FAQ: What Order Do I Read The Discworld Books?

Your Discworld Reading Order: This Is How To Tackle Pratchett’s Series

The Discworld is a remarkable fantasy series in which each book takes place on the flat Discworld, on the back of a turtle that floats through space, and its inhabitants work to improve their worlds or live their lives.

Traditional Discworld reading order

There are 47 books in the series, as well as several short stories and supplemental books such as The Science of Discworld, Where’s My Cow, and The World of Poo; the traditional Discworld reading order is listed here, and this is the order in which Terry Pratchett wrote them.

Does it matter what order you read Discworld?

Because it’s an anthology, you can read the books in any order you want, but even though the Discworld is made up of standalone novels, there are recurring protagonists.

What is the best way to read Discworld?

The Rincewind Books are one of the most remarkable fantasy series ever created, but because it is so large, many people are looking for a better Discworld reading order.

  1. The Last Continent.
  2. The Last Hero.
  3. The Colour of Magic.
  4. The Light Fantastic.
  5. Sourcery.
  6. Eric.
  7. Interesting Times.

Where should I start with Terry Pratchett?

It’s never too late to begin exploring Terry Pratchett’s wonderful world.

  • Embark on a fantastic journey.
  • Incredible adventures with unlikely heroes.
  • Dive into the magic of Discworld.
  • Surprising short stories.

How many Discworld books are there?

There are 41 Discworld novels in total, published over 32 years, and while you can read them in any order, we’ve created two downloadable lists to help you fully explore the stories and characters of Discworld.

We recommend reading:  How Many Books In The Wheel Of Time Series? (Perfect answer)

What is the best Discworld novel to start with?

The best Discworld books for newcomers are listed below.

  • Sourcery.
  • Hogfather.
  • Guards! Guards!
  • Mort.
  • Night Watch.
  • The Wee Free Men.

Is Discworld on a turtle?

The Discworld was carried through space on the back of Great A’Tuin, the World Turtle; however, the Disc does not rest directly on A’Tuin’s back; instead, it rests on the shoulders of four enormous elephants, Berilia, Tubul, Great T’Phon, and Jerakeen, who stand atop the turtle’s shell.

Is the Discworld series for adults?

While there is some adolescent-friendly humor (silly puns, body function jokes), the majority of the humor is mature, based on deep knowledge of human nature and society. I strongly encourage you to read it.

Is Terry Pratchett dead?

With the exception of The Wee Free Men and Snuff, Death has appeared in every Discworld novel, and had a possible cameo at the end of Johnny and the Dead (the character was not identified, but spoke in unquoted small caps as Death does throughout the series).

Do you need to read Terry Pratchett books in order?

No, you do not have to read them in order, but you should read each character’s story in order, such as the Rincewind books or the Sam Vimes stories.

How old is Terry Pratchett?

Mort is a great place to start in the Discworld series; I believe I started much later in the series (whatever was available at the time from the library) and read others out of order before reading Mort.

What is the first Discworld novel?

We believe in the free flow of information, and Terry Pratchett once told me that his first novel in the series, The Colour of Magic (1983), was not the best place to start your relationship with the Discworld.

We recommend reading:  Where To Get Apartment Guide Books? (Perfect answer)

What age is Discworld for?

The majority, if not all, of the quotes, misquotes, and outright take-offs of various cultures that make the discworld series so enjoyable to read would be lost on a twelve-year-old reader; however, the books are entirely suitable – no sex and very little violence – but best left until the child is a bit older.

Do Discworld books have chapters?

Pratchett is quoted as saying that he “just never got into the habit of chapters,” later adding, “I have to shove them in the putative YA books because my editor screams until I do.” Few of the Discworld novels have chapter divisions, instead featuring interweaving story lines.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *