Readers ask: What Order Outlander Books?

Chronology of the Outlander Series

The Big, Enormous Books are about Claire and Jamie Fraser’s lives, while the Short, Less Indescribable Novels are more or less historical mysteries, and The Bulges are short stories that fit in between the story lines of the novels.

Chronology of the Outlander Series:

Lord John’s lordship attends an electricu2010eel party in London and ends up at the Battle of Quebec. Set in London in 1757, this is a historical mystery steeped in blood and less savory substances. The second full-length novel deals with a twenty-year-old family scandal.
The Scottish Prisoner is set in the Lake District, London, and Ireland in 1760. “A Plague of Zombies” (novella): Set in 1761 in Jamaica, Lord John Grey discovers a previously unknown affinity for snakes, cockroaches, and zombies. The author’s books have an internal “shape” that she sees while writing them.

In the Works:

Jamie and Claire’s next book, Book Ten of the OUTLANDER series, will be the final installment in a series of major novels focusing on Jamie and Claire’s story; there are other projects in the works after Book X, including a prequel featuring Jamie’s parents.


SEVEN STONES TO STAND OR FALL deals with interesting side-stories and lacunae of the Outlander universe, and LORD JOHN AND THE HAND OF DEVILS is a collection of three novellas. All photographs by Diana Gabaldon.

What order do the Outlander books go in?

What is the order of the Outlander books?

  • Outlander (1991), Dragonfly in Amber (1992), Voyager (1993), Drums of Autumn (1996), The Fiery Cross (2001), A Breath of Snow and Ashes (2005), An Echo in the Bone (2009), and Written in My Own Heart’s Blood (2014)
We recommend reading:  Where Is Half Price Books?

Do you have to read Outlander in order?

Because the short stories and novellas were written to be read on their own, they are stand-alone stories about secondary characters u2013 you can read them or skip them; the novels, on the other hand, must be read in order.

What Outlander book comes after a breath of snow and ashes?


Why does Claire marry John GREY?

Claire married the Lord to gain protection after believing Jamie was dead, according to the books. In 2017, John Grey actor David Berry spoke to Entertainment Weekly about the love triangle between Claire and Jamie.

Should I read virgins before Outlander?

The good news is that if you started with Outlander, you’ve already read the first three novels in chronological order: “Outlander,” “Dragonfly in Amber,” and “Voyager.” However, “Virgins” is a short story you might want to start with.

What is book 2 in the Outlander series?

Diana Gabaldon’s Dragonfly in Amber (Outlander, Book 2) is available as a Kindle eBook.

Is the Scottish Prisoner part of the Outlander series?

The Scottish Prisoner is a captivating return to the world Diana Gabaldon created in her Outlander and Lord John series, a masterpiece of epic history, wicked deception, and scores that can only be settled in blood. London, 1760. Life is falling apart at the seams for Jamie Fraser, a paroled prisoner-of-war.

Will there be a 10th Outlander book?

Following BEES, I’ll be working on Book Ten (no title yet), the final installment in the OUTLANDER series of major novels starring Jamie and Claire; Book Ten will be another Large Novel, so it will take some time (at least several years) to complete.

We recommend reading:  How Many Books Is In The New Testament? (Solution found)

Does Jamie go through the stones?

Jamie’s ghost is 25, according to Gabaldon, which is strange given that he’s well into middle age in Season 5. Jamie reiterates that he can’t travel through the stones in Season 5, but it appears that the stones have their own minds.

How old is Claire in A Breath of Snow and Ashes?

Kathryn Jamie was born in 1721, and Claire in 1918, so they are nominally 51 and 54 in ABoSaA (which begins in 1772).

How did Jamie become a landowner in America?

Jamie finally settled in his own land after seeing him travel around the world, this time in the Americas, specifically in the beautiful sweeping mountains of North Carolina, in exchange for a large amount of land where he could settle with Claire and eventually their daughter Brianna.

Is there a release date for Go Tell the bees that I am gone?

“Penguin Random House has set a publication date for GO TELL THE BEES THAT I AM GONE: the book will be released on November 23rd (yes, this year, in time for Christmas), which is tidings of great joy, to be sure, but also–You can pre-order the book now, if you want to!” she wrote.

What happens at the end of Outlander books?

Brianna, Roger, and their two children also return to Fraser’s Ridge by the end of the novel, which takes place in the summer of 1779, when Jamie and Claire are in their late 50s/early 60s. It will be incredible if Outlander makes it this far u2014 and this isn’t even the final book in the series!

We recommend reading:  How Many Books In Divergent Series? (TOP 5 Tips)

Is Outlander based on a true story?

Outlander, a historical drama series based on a series of novels by Diana Gabaldon, has become a TV phenomenon, and much of the story is based on historical fact, despite its fictional nature.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *