Question: What Comes After Trilogy In Books?

r/books – Terms Used to Describe the Number of Books in a Series

Everyone seems to know that a three-book series is referred to as a “trilogy,” but what about four? I’ve been thinking about this for a while and have compiled a list of all the terms that could be used to describe the number of books in a series.

What is a 8 book series called?

Octology is a series of eight books.

What is a 5 book series called?

A pentalogy (from Greek – penta-, “five,” and – -logia, “discourse”) is a literary or narrative work that is divided into five parts explicitly.

What are 2 books in a series called?

So a diptych is a single piece folded into two halves; these aren’t just two novels set in the same world; they’re two integral halves of the same thing, and they could be considered a series in the sense that Ilium is the first half of a single story that ends in Olympos.

What is a six book series called?

A hexalogy (from the Greek – hexa-, “six,” and – -logia, “discourse”) is a literary or narrative work composed of six separate works.

What’s a 4 book series called?

The term “quadrilogy,” which uses the Latin prefix quadri- instead of the Greek, and was first recorded in 1865, has also been used to market the Alien movies as an alternative to “tetralogy.”

What is the most read book in the US?

In order of votes, here are the top ten:

  1. Harper Lee’s “To Kill a Mockingbird”
  2. Diana Gabaldon’s “Outlander” (series)
  3. J.K. Rowling’s “Harry Potter” (series)
  4. Jane Austen’s “Pride and Prejudice”
  5. J.R.R. Tolkien’s “The Lord of the Rings” (series)
  6. Margaret Mitchell’s “Gone With the Wind”
We recommend reading:  What Are Electronic Books? (Perfect answer)

What is the longest running book series?

Another long-running series is Terry Pratchett’s Discworld, which has 45 books, and Robert Jordan’s Wheel of Time, which has 14 books (including Brandon Sanderson’s contributions after Jordan’s death as a cowriter on the final three titles).

What is a series of 3 movies called?

A trilogy consists of three films; however, what do you call it if there are four or more?

What is a Quintology?

[penta- G. logos, treatise, word] pentalogy. (pen-tal’-j), A rarely used term for a combination of five elements, such as five concurrent symptoms.

Can you have a two book series?

Within an episodic book series, characters can fall in love, have children, or change jobs without confusing the reader, especially if it makes sense. A book series can be two books or 50 books and counting, depending on the type of story you’re telling and how long it takes you to tell it.

What is the best book to read?

The Best Books of All Time

  1. 1. Marcel Proust’s In Search of Lost Time. 2. James Joyce’s Ulysses. 3. Miguel de Cervantes’ Don Quixote.
  2. 4. Gabriel Garcia Marquez’s One Hundred Years of Solitude.
  3. 5. F. Scott Fitzgerald’s The Great Gatsby.
  4. 6. Herman Melville’s Moby Dick.
  5. 7. Leo Tolstoy’s War and Peace.

What is a series of novels called?

A novel sequence is a collection of novels that share common themes, characters, or settings, but each has its own title and standalone storyline, allowing them to be read in any order. Fictional series typically share a common setting, story arc, cast of characters, or timeline.

We recommend reading:  How To Delete Books From Kindle Paperwhite? (Best solution)

What is a 7 book series called?

A heptalogy (from Greek hepta-, “seven,” and -logia, “discourse”), also known as a septology, is a literary or narrative work composed of seven separate works.

What’s before a trilogy?

The Before trilogy is a collection of three American films directed by Richard Linklater, beginning with Before Sunrise (1995) and continuing with two sequels, Before Sunset (2004) and Before Midnight (2013). A fourth film is not currently in development, despite the filmmakers’ discussions.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *