Question: What Books Are Made With The Giver Series?

Giver Quartet

Lois Lowry, who was born in Hawaii and grew up in New York, Pennsylvania, and Japan, is the author of more than forty books for young adults.
Lois Lowry is the author of The Giver, NUMBER THE STARS, and ON THE HORIZON, all of which won Newbery Medals. Her most recent book, Gathering Blue, is a collection of memories and images from Pearl Harbor, Hiroshima, and postwar Japan. Like The Giver, Gathering Blue postulates a future world.

What books are in the giver series?

The Giver series is a four-book dystopian science fiction series for young adults written by Lois Lowry. Unlike other book series, the books are only loosely connected, and the main character in each book is not the same.

What order should I read The Giver series in?

No, you can read the Giver Quartet in the following order:

  1. Gathering Blue, The Giver, Messenger, Son (all three parts)
  2. Son (part 1 “Before”), The Giver, Gathering Blue, Messenger, Son (part 2 “Between”), Son (part 3 “Beyond”)
  3. Son (part 1 “Before”), The Giver, Gathering Blue, Messenger, Son (part 2 “Between”), Son (part 3

Is gathering blue the sequel to The Giver?

It’s not a sequel in the sense that no characters appear in both, they’re set in separate contemporaneous communities, and the action doesn’t pick up where the previous book left off, but it’s set in the same world; the stories converge in the series’ final two books.

Who does Jonas marry in the giver?

Jonas had stepped down as Leader for the sake of his family, but he was still revered by many in the Village, and he and Kira had two children named Annabelle and Matthew.

We recommend reading:  What Are The Three Fifty Shades Of Grey Books? (Solution found)

What is book 2 of the giver?

Find all the books, read about the author, and more in Lois Lowry’s Gathering Blue (Giver Quartet, Book 2) Kindle Edition. Lois Lowry once again creates a mysterious but plausible future world, this time one ruled by savagery and deception, which shuns and discards the weak.

Is The Giver Jonas biological father?

The Giver may be Jonas’ biological father, but the book never explicitly states this.

Will there be a giver 2?

In 2004, Jonas reappeared as a full-fledged character u2014 albeit under a different name u2014 in Messenger, a sequel to Gathering Blue, and his (and Gabe’s) sagas are finally coming to a close with the release of Son, the first direct sequel to The Giver.

Is there a second giver book?

Lois Lowry’s The Giver Quartet consists of four books set in a dystopian world: The Giver (1993), Gathering Blue (2000), Messenger (2004), and Son (2012).

Is Jonas the givers son?

Gabriel, the baby Jonas brought from The Community, is one of the two main characters in Son, which is the fourth and final book in The Giver quartet. His mother, Claire, is the other.

Can you read The Giver series out of order?


Why is The Giver a banned book?

In 1995, parents in Montana challenged the book because of infanticide and euthanasia, and the school required parental permission before reading it; after a long debate, the book was kept in the school.

We recommend reading:  How Many Babysitters Club Books Are There? (Correct answer)

What happens to Kira in Son?

Kira is married to Jonas and now lives in the Village where her father (Christopher) used to live. They have two children, Annabelle and Matthew, who are named after Matty and Annabella.

What happened to the community after Jonas left?

After Jonas leaves with Gabriel, all of The Giver’s memories should be released into the community, allowing citizens to become aware of the world’s history as well as the reality of their current community. Although The Giver’s community appears to be a utopia, the reality is quite the opposite.

Does Kira meet Jonas in gathering blue?

Gathering Blue is set in a village that is very different from the community that Jonas leaves at the end of The Giver, and there appears to be no connection between the two books at all. Kira, the main character in Gathering Blue, never leaves the village in the course of the narrative, and there appears to be no connection between the two books at all.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *