FAQ: What Books Are In The Cosmere?

Cosmere Reading Order: How to read Brandon Sanderson’s Book Series?

u2013 Robin Hobb: ‘Highly recommended to anyone looking for a good read.’

What is The Cosmere Universe about?

When a person holds a Shard, they are imbued with its power, but they also become the Shard, warped by its intent, according to Brandon Sanderson’s Cosmere Universe.

The Cosmere Reading Order:

There is no specific reading order to follow as Brandon Sanderson continues to publish books in the Cosmere Universe; however, Sanderson recommends reading the books in order, and he adds that it doesn’t matter which Cosmere series you start with; each of the following books is a possible entry point in the series.

I. Elantris

Elantris was built on magic, and it thrived for a time, but then the magic faded, and Elantris began to rot, and now its citizens are under the control of a powerful Imperium led by religious zealots. Can a young Princess unite the people and lead a rebellion to reclaim the lost magic?

II. Mistborn Era 1 (Mistorn Trilogy original)

Ex-prisoner Kelsier escapes the Pits of Hathsin, a brutal prison camp, and Emperor Elend Venture hopes to find clues left by the Lord Ruler that will allow him to save the world in Arcanum Unbounded: The Cosmere Collection.

III. Mistborn Era 2 (Wax and Wayne)

Wayne is 0 Twinborn, with both one Allomantic and one Feruchemical power. The Bands of Mourning are mythical metal minds owned by the Lord Ruler. Waxillium Ladrian is a descendant of Breeze and a former lawman.

IV. Warbreaker

Warbreaker is the story of two princesses who live in a world where those who die in battle return as gods and must live in a pantheon. Using magic is difficult because breath can only be collected one unit at a time.

We recommend reading:  How To Scan Books For Amazon? (Solution)

V. Stormlight Archive

When Lift hears the relentless Darkness is hunting people like her, she can’t help but head to Yeddaw. New technological discoveries begin to change the face of the Radiant war.

VI. Whitesand (Graphic Novel)

When the Sand Masters are slaughtered in a sinister conspiracy, Kenton believes he is the only survivor, so he forms an unlikely alliance with Khriss, a mysterious Darksider with secrets of her own.

VII. Others

On the deadly island of Patji, where birds grant people magical abilities and predators can sense their prey’s thoughts, the novella Shadows For Silence in the Forests of Hell is available in Arcanum Unbounded: The Cosmere Collection.

Publication Order

Secret History is best read after Bands of Mourning or between Era 1 and 2 of Mistborn, after Hero of Ages; however, there is some debate about the best order to read it.

What books are a part of the cosmere?

The Cosmere Universe in chronological order of publication.

  • The Final Empire.
  • The Well of Ascension.
  • The Hero of Ages.
  • Warbreaker.
  • The Way of Kings.
  • The Alloy of Law.

How many cosmere books are there?

So, on the coppermind wiki’s cosmere page, there are 20 books listed as being part of the cosmere, including Oathbringer and White Sand Volume 2.

What books does HOID appear in?

Hoid first appeared in Brandon’s sixth novel, Elantris; then in his seventh, the unpublished Dragonsteel, and finally in his eighth, the unpublished White Sand, and has since appeared in every published cosmere novel.

Are all cosmere books connected?

All of the books are connected by an overarching story and share a single creation myth (though not all cultures are aware of it).

We recommend reading:  How Many Fifty Shades Of Grey Books Are There? (Correct answer)

Is mistborn era 2 finished?

The Alloy of Law, Shadows of Self, The Bands of Mourning, and a forthcoming book make up Era 2. Sanderson announced in July 2020 that he will begin writing Mistborn: The Lost Metal, the fourth book in Era 2, in January 2021. Era 3 is planned as a trilogy and will be released yearly beginning in 2025.

Are mistborn and Stormlight related?

The short answer is that they both take place in the same solar system, albeit in two different solar systems within the same universe.

How did Nightblood get to Roshar?

Nightblood is an Awakened sword native to the world of Nalthis, formerly wielded by Vasher, now Zahel, and later given to Szeth by Nale. Nightblood works on Roshar because any form of Investiture can be used by an Awakened sword.

Is Elantris a stand alone book?

Brandon’s first book, Elantris, was a standalone epic fantasy novel that won the Romantic Times award for best epic fantasy in 2005, was named the best fantasy or science fiction book of the year by Barnes and Noble.com editors, and was translated into twenty languages.

Is HOID in the Mistborn series?

Brandon Sanderson’s Mistborn series features the character Hoid.

Is kelsier a HOID?

Kelsier is a half-skaa Mistborn from Scadrial, stern and intense but always smiling, another act of defiance against the Lord Ruler’s oppression. He despises injustice and takes it to an extreme, which led him to see no good in any of the nobility at first.

Why is it called cosmere?

In terms of Latin definitions and etymology, I believe the word cosmere is derived from “cosmos” and the suffix “-mere,” with “cosmos” meaning “a kind of universe” and “-mere” meaning “a part of; a segment of.”

We recommend reading:  How To Draw Books For Adults? (Perfect answer)

How do you explain cosmere?

The cosmere is a fictional shared universe in which several of Brandon Sanderson’s books are set; as a result, books set in the cosmere share a common cosmology and set of magical rules, and some characters from one world will appear in other worlds.

Should I read Edgedancer before Oathbringer?

Brandon has stated on numerous occasions that readers should read Edgedancer before moving on to the third book in The Stormlight Archive (Oathbringer), as it contains a key plot point and adds a new dimension to the next story.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *